Music from Heaven

I thought all might enjoy this singing from Russia, written by Chesnikov, it is marked by his love of Basso Profundo. I think of it as praising God from the very bottom of your feet.

8 Responses to “Music from Heaven”

  1. Alyssa Sophia Says:

    I LOVE it! Thank you for posting this 🙂

  2. leatherbear Says:

    I was at the UK premiere of Arvo Pärt’s Kanon Pokajanen (the Canon of Redemption by St Andrew of Crete) at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival – and I remember the bass parts resonating the deconsacrated church the concert was held in.

    It was a deeply moving piece by this orthodox composer and I wish there was a decent piece of video on youtube instead of 14 seconds from a concert recorded on a phone.

  3. Pseudo-Polymath » Blog Archive » Morning Highlights Says:

    […] Basso profundo youtube-ness found by Fr Stephen at Glory to God For All Things. […]

  4. Fatherstephen Says:

    Indeed.

  5. handmaidmaryleah Says:

    Lovely.

  6. Sean Says:

    Beautiful!

  7. cbrunette Says:

    Thank you for posting this! Exquisite!

  8. Meg Says:

    Pavel Chesnokov is one of my favorite composers. We don’t get enough of his music in the West. (My *very* favorite Russian composer is Rachmaninov. His All-Night Vigil was one of the things that started me on my path to Orthodoxy.)

    As for the basses — I live with one in my life, my son. There’s nothing like a basso profundo, what the Russians call an “octavist.”

Leave a comment